eglantine molokostar aubry.

eglantine molokostar-aubry

Meet Eglantine Molokostar Aubry. She is a young, 20-something Parisian photographer, whom we had the pleasure of meeting while in Paris. Intrigued by her self portraiture, I decided to ask Eglantine a few questions about how she found photography, why she’s been focusing on self portraits, and what she works on professionally.

When did you discover photography?

“. . . when I was a kid. In fact I still have the very first picture I took. It was my parents and seen from a very small child’s point of view. I must have been 3 or 4 years old then.”

“My dad was and still is a photographer. He offered me my first camera, it was a kid’s plastic camera in the shape of a clown . . . He worked as a professor at the Louis Lumiere photography school and as editor-in-chief for Zoom . . . so I guess I was just contaminated really early. My mom was a camerawoman for french TV, the whole family lives with and for images.”

Wow, that’s impressive. What a young age to begin snapping pictures! I guess it really does come naturally. So how did you turn your passion into a full-time job?

When I started as a professional (after graduating from Gobelins photography school), I was more into “nature morte,”  things, landscapes, architecture , but then I met a bartender named Earle Holmes. He used to have this bar in the fifth arrondissemont of Paris called the Shebeen. This was a place where all the French rock and pop scene used to hang out . . . Earle believed in me, so he introduced me to everyone he knew, and this is how I became a music-related photographer. I followed the bands at their first concerts, we were all growing together . . . then I started to work with some magazines like MIXTE, Crash, and upstreet and had some pics in Another Magazine, Rock& Folk, etc. . . .

Nice. Sounds like you were in the right place and the right time. Those are some very cool publications, trendsetting if you will.

eglantine molokostar-aubry

I’ve noticed that you take a lot of self portraits. Is there a significance to this series?

“The self-portrait part is a bit special, it started long ago but the series I’ve been developing for the past year is especially dedicated to a friend of mine who passed away last year. He was a very talented young photographer called Sebastien Maziere, and, well, these pictures are for him. I hope someday I get a chance to make a book with these.”

I’m sorry to hear of his passing. I was able to check out his Web site. His photos are beautiful, very ethereal. Can you tell me about the “Last Collection” series it features?

“My friend passed away last year . . . but his images remain, and we’re preparing exhibitions of his work for January or so. If you want to know a bit more about his work, there’s a place where you can find interviews related to the last exhibition we organized in September (www.chorusgallery.blogspot.com).”

I’ll be sure to check that out and put it on the Web site for our readers.

eglantine molokostar-aubry

So, finally, which photographers do you look to for inspiration? Who are you paying attention to these days?

“My favourite photographers are usually not at all going in the same direction as I do. I guess one who influences me more closely might be Robert Frank, especially the book called Sick of Goodbyes, though it’s not in colour. I’m very fond of Guy Bourdin too (this time for the use of color).”

Thank you to Eglantine for taking the time to chat. Please be sure to check out her Web site (which is not up to date but will be shortly) and be sure check out the photography of her good friend, Sebastien Maziere.

2 responses to “eglantine molokostar aubry.

  1. Pingback: bostontparties.com » BoTalks

  2. Pingback: Eglantine Molokostar Aubry’s ‘Self-Portraits’ « ALMOST VELVET

Leave a Reply

